George Mason University
Approved Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting
October 22, 2003

Present: J. Bennett, L. Brown, P. Buchanan, R. Coffinberger, M. De Nys, E. Elstun, D. Kuebrich, P. Stearns

Chair Jim Bennett opened the meeting at 11:58 am.

I. Approval of Minutes
The Minutes of the September 24, 2003 Executive Committee meeting were approved as distributed.

II. Announcements
The Clerk reported that drinks and a personalized cake could be ordered for the Faculty Senate’s 30th anniversary in April for approximately $100. The Executive Committee approved the funds.

The Chair reported that President Merten spoke on the roles of the GMU Foundation, Alumni Affairs Department, and the University Development Office at the last President’s Council meeting. The Chair noted that he was disappointed that the faculty was not mentioned, even though they are responsible for raising significant funds for the Foundation.

III. Old Business
There was no old business.

IV. Reports from Senate Standing Committee Chairs
A. Academic Policy

The Committee will meet at 3:00 pm today and may have agenda items for the October 29, 2003 Faculty Senate meeting.

B. Budget & Resources
No report.

C. Faculty Matters
The Chair presented the Committee’s motion on the appointment of “outsiders” as heads of Academic Units. The Provost stated his only concern was the phrase “all possible internal candidates have been considered” in item three. The Chair
agreed to change the wording in the final motion to be presented to the Senate.

D. Nominations
No report.

E. Organization & Operations
No report.

V. New Business
A. Faculty Senate Annual Report

It was decided that the annual report will be issued from the Executive Committee, but it will be presented to and extensively discussed by the entire Senate at the November meeting. At next week’s meeting, the Chair will explain the report and urge the Senators to read it carefully when they receive it as an attachment to the November 19, 2003 agenda.

VI. Adjournment
The meeting adjourned at 1:20 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Debi Siler
Clerk, Faculty Senate

Return to Executive Committee Page