George Mason University
Approved Minutes of the Faculty Senate
May 1, 2001

Senators Present: E. Blaisten-Barojas, D. Boileau, L. Bowen, L. Brown, P. Buchanan, J. Censer, R. Coffinberger, S. deMonsabert, R. Diecchio, R. Ehrlich, E. Elstun, P. Feerick, T. Fresz, K. Gaffney, D. Gantz, H. Gortner, M. Holt, R. C. Jones, A. Kolker, D. Kuebrich, C. Mattusch. J. Moore, L. Rikard, L. Rockwood, J. Sanford, J. Scimecca, L. Seligmann, P. So, A. Sofer, P. Story, C. Sutton, S. Zoltek, P. Stearns, S. Sanchez

Senators Absent: K. Alligood, K. Avruch, W. M. Black, B. Brown, R. Carty, S. Cheldelin, R. Conti, S. deMonsabert, M. deNys, T. Domzal, J. Flinn, M. Ford, M. Grady, L. Griffiths, E. Gunn, G. Hanweck, K. Haynes, M, Krauss, L. Lederman, A. Merten, R. Nadeau, E. Price, L. Rigsby, R. Rubenstein, S. Ruth, D. Struppa, C. Thomas, P. Wilkie, J. Zenelis

Guests Present: Kelly Munley, Jon Ireland, Julie Moore, Shannon L. Bailey, Marianne Palmisano, Mary Lee Vance, Susan Jones, Sheryl Beach, Fran Herrity, Francis Holder, Robin Heron, Gerry Cook, Hugh Sockett

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order at 3:05 pm by Chair, D. Boileau.

II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes of the April 11, 2001 Faculty Senate Meeting were approved as distributed.

III. Announcements
George Mason hosted the Northern Virginia delegation of the House Appropriations Committee for a Public Hearing at 7:00 pm on May 2 in the Mason Hall Board Room. This hearing was on the State Budget for the Upcoming Fiscal Year.

Graduation will be held on May 12 with Brian Lamb as speaker.

IV. Unfinished Business

V. Senate Committee Reports
Executive Committee – Don Boileau
The Senate Executive Committee will meet during June to compile a list of items they would like to see addressed next year. D. Boileau invited Senators to forward to him any suggestions for possible action. Beginning in the fall, notes for meetings, items
of information and reports will be circulated among members of the Executive Committee. In attempts to keep the full Senate informed, information and motions will appear on the Senate Web site.

Academic Policies Committee – Esther Elstun
E. Elstun called on R. Chris Jones to present the Committee’s two motions. R. Chris Jones moved for the Committee that:

the following two sentences be added to paragraph 2 of the “General Policies” sub-section entitled “Conduct Within the University Community” on p. 41 of the University Catalog: “For example all sound emitting devices shall be turned off during classes unless otherwise authorized by the instructor. For other examples of disruptive behavior see “Disruptive Behavior in the Classroom” in the George Mason University Faculty Information Guide.”

The Committee further moves that:
The Senate encourages instructors to place a statement in their syllabi that it is university policy that all sound emitting devices shall be turned off during classes unless otherwise authorized by the instructor.

Both motions passed without dissent.

VI. Faculty Senate Standing Committee Reports (the following committees submitted written reports and are available for your perusal in the Senate Office and on the Web.)

1. Academic Policies Committee

2. Facilities, Support Services, and Libraries Committee

3. Faculty Matters Committee – Joe Scimecca

Five motions were presented for discussion at the next Faculty Senate meeting on May 9, 2001. (See written report.)

4. Nominations Committee (oral report)
This Committee met 3 times during the year and accomplished the following:
1. The Committee presented a slate of candidates to the Faculty Senate to serve on Senate Committees.
2. A slate was presented to the Faculty Senate of faculty to act as liaison with the Board of Visitors.

Estela Blaisten-Barojas, Chair, O&O Committee moved for the committee:

The charge and membership of the Writing Across the Curriculum be modified to incorporate decisions mandated by the senate in March 1996 and 1997 as follows:

Charge: The Committee works closely with the director of the Writing Across the Curriculum Program to:
1. Articulate and refine the requirements for the WI (Writing Intensive) course to fulfill the WI requirement in every undergraduate degree across the university with the purpose of establishing homogeneous WI criteria;
2. Assist colleges, schools and institutes in the identification of existing or new courses that degree programs propose to meet the WI requirement in their curricula;
3. Review regularly the WI-course syllabi to determine compliance with the WI requirement;
4. Suggest ways to meet the WI requirement to faculty teaching the WI designated courses; and
5. Assist with activities and events related to writing across the curriculum.

Composition: One elected representative from each of the academic units offering undergraduate degrees, and the Director of the WAC Program who is an ex-officio member, with no vote or possibility to Chair the Committee.

5. Organization & Operations Committee – Estela Blaisten-Barojas (oral report)
1. The Organization and Operations Committee forwarded 16 business items to the various appropriate Committees of the Senate.
2. The standing University Committee on Communication with the Board of Visitors was created.
3. The task force on Relations with the Board of Visitors was dissolved.
4. The charge of the University standing committee “Technology Committee” was designed in collaboration with the members of that committee.
5. The charge of the University standing committee “General Education Committee” was designed in collaboration with their members.
6. The charge and membership of the University standing committee “Writing Across the Curriculum” were modified in collaboration with the members of that committee.
7. The charge of the University standing committee “Communication with the Board of Visitors Committee” was modified in collaboration with the members of that committee.
8. The Senate seat allocation to the University academic units was worked out based on the data corresponding to October of 2000 provided in the Office of Institutional Research and Reporting.
9. The Senate Web site was fully designed and updated.

University Standing Committees (the following written reports are available for your perusal in the Faculty Senate Office and on the Web.)

1. Athletic Council – Gerry Cook

2. Effective Teaching Committee – Hugh Sockett

3. General Education Committee – Sheryl Beach

4. Technology Committee – Stanley Zoltek

5. Writing Across the Curriculum Committee – Stanley Zoltek

6. External Academic Relations Committee – Ariela Sofer

7. BOV Faculty Awards and Incentives Committee – Jack Censer
(Oral report)
This is Committee has completed a draft of a Statement of Purpose. This group will remain informational for the foreseeable future.

VII. New Business
The following motion was co-sponsored by J. Sanford, E. Elstun, S. Zoltek, L. Rockwood, J. Scimecca, M. deNys, J. Flinn, L. Brown, P. Story.

Jim Sanford moved that transfer students who enter George Mason University during the 2001-2002, 2002-2003, and 2003-2004 academic years be allowed to graduate under requirements of the 2000-2001 catalog as well as requirements of other catalogs now allowed. This motion will not affect students who enter as first-term freshmen and will not affect any other provisions governing graduation requirements.

The motion was seconded. Discussion followed. An alternative motion was presented by Sheryl Beach.

Because of the complexity of the issues under discussion, and the lack of time to read the distributed motion carefully, Pat Story moved to recess until May 9 at 3:00 in room 106 Fine Arts Building.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Lorraine Brown
Secretary, Faculty Senate

Return to Archives