George Mason University
Approved Minutes of the Faculty Senate
February 21, 2001

Senators Present: K. Alligood, K. Avruch, W. M. Black, L. Bowen, B. Brown, L. Brown, J. Censer, R. Coffinberger, S. deMonsabert, E. Elstun, P. Feerick, D. Gantz, E. Gunn, M. Holt, R.C. Jones, D. Kuebrich, C. Mattusch, J. Moore, L. Rigsby, L. Rikard, L. Rockwood, S. Sanchez, J. Sanford, J. Scimecca, A. Sofer, P. Stearns, P. Story, C. Sutton, J. Zenelis, S. Zoltek

Senators Absent: E. Baisten-Barojas, D. Boileau, P. Buchanan, R. Carty, S. Cheldelin, R. Conti, M. DeNys, R. Diecchio, T. Domzal, R. Ehrlich, J. Flinn, M. Ford, T. Fresz, K. Gaffney, H. Gortner, M. Grady, L. Griffiths, G. Hanweck, K. Haynes, A.
Kolker, M. Krauss, L. Lederman, A. Merten, R. Nadeau, E. Price, R. Rubenstein, S. Ruth, L. Seligmann, P. So, D. Struppa, C. Thomas, P. Wilkie

Guests Present: S. Beach, E. Carter, T. Perdiou, J. deFreitas, S. Jones

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order at 3:05 pm by Chair Pro Tem, Don Gantz

II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes of January 24, 2001 were approved.

III. Announcements
Glenn Smith, Professor, Music Department presented a eulogy for Tom Brawley, a Professor of the Music Department who died February 11, 2001. The Faculty Senate, in Dr. Brawley’s memory, held a moment of silence.

IV. Unfinished Business

V. Senate Committee Reports
Executive Committee

Don Gantz reported the Executive Committee met on February 19, 2001. In order to form a strong liaison with the faculty and obtain faculty representation on the George Mason Foundation Governing Board, Judith Jobbit has been invited to the next Executive Committee meeting, March 19. Please let the Senate know if any members have issues they would like discussed at this meeting. Peter Stearns suggested a new policy for new faculty hires on tenure track. The policy will be geared to newly hired Assistant Professors to have one semester off from teaching in their first 5 years. The timing will be negotiable with the individual. It will be made retroactive to Fall 1999 hires. Stopping the tenure clock will be discussed with Deans and Directors. The Executive Committee of the Senate expressed informing faculty “there should be no extra teaching if taking part in the stoppage of the tenure clock”. There will need to be continuity among units in this directive.

Academic Policies Committee
R. Chris Jones moved and the motion was seconded and passed unanimously:

The senior level Air Force ROTC course at the University of Maryland-College Park (ARSC 320/321), taken by George Mason students through the Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area, shall be accorded three course credits per semester in keeping with the credits given to Army ROTC at GMU.

Facilities Support Services and Library Committee – Stanley Zoltek
The Facilities and Support Services and Library Committee will meet after the Spring Break to review Fenwick Fellow applications.

Technology Committee – Stanley Zoltek
Stanley Zoltek, Chair, contacted Joe Hutchison, Director of Central and Distributed Systems (UCIS), regarding problems encountered by the Department of Mathematical Sciences during the department’s migration to the new email system which is part of the “Mason Enterprise Messaging Online” project. Email accounts on the new “system were created for Department faculty and staff and “activated” BEFORE faculty and staff received passwords to the accounts or were notified that the accounts were receiving email.” This resulted in messages not being read and responded to in a timely manner. This problem has been resolved and Tracy Holt, Manager, E-mail Systems and Accounts (UCIS) has reported the implementation of new procedures that should insure that this problem would not occur again.

Faculty Matters Committee – Joe Scimecca
There is a misunderstanding in some sectors of the University about the Memorandum of Understanding associated with Summer School compensation. The Faculty Matters Committee will be working on this issue.

The Administrative Survey has been distributed and it is requested of senators to encourage faculty in their departments to complete and return it to the Senate Office. The Faculty Matters Committee and the Executive Committee of the Senate guarantee anonymity.

Organization and Operations – Estela Blaisten-Barojas
No report

Nominations Committee – Rick Coffinberger
Reported on working on a list of senators to become a liaison committee with the Board of Visitors. The slate presented was incomplete, and a complete slate will be presented at the next senate meeting.

VI. Other Standing Committees
External Relations Committee

Ariela Sofer reported House Bill 2377 “Faculty representatives on college boards” did not pass the state legislature. Delegate Landes has expressed his desire to present it again next year. Items to be brought up at the next Virginia Senate Meeting:
1. Resubmission of House Bill 2377
2. Concern of faculty of the TIAACREF reduction
3. Faculty salaries
4. Tuition remission for faculty dependents
It was noted that the Virginia Retirement System is also in jeopardy of a reduction. R. Chris Jones suggested Pat Wilkie’s recent survey of faculty salaries be brought to the legislators.

Senators are requested to send their suggestions for topics to be discussed to Ariela Sofer for submission to the legislature.

Faculty Senate of Virginia – Esther Elstun
The next meeting of the Virginia Faculty Senate will be held at Norfolk State University in Virginia Beach on March 24. This will be a joint meeting with the AAUP. Esther Elstun, Don Gantz and Ariela Sofer will attend. The corporatization of higher education will be discussed. Officers will be elected for next year at this meeting.

Athletic Council – Larry Rockwood
The NCAA will be at GMU for its 10-year recertification at the same time the SACS Committee visits GMU, which is 16 through 19 April.

General Education – Sheryl Beach
Presented General Education information to the Senate which she also presented to the BOV in January, 2001.

Technology Committee – Stanley Zoltek
The Technology Committee met at 2:00 on Feb. 21, 2001. They will be contacting Donna Kidd regarding the UCIS budget and will report to the Senate at the next meeting.

BOV Faculty Awards and Incentives Committee
Jack Censer, Chair, History and Art History Dept. reported on the proposed Faculty Awards and Incentives Committee. He will Chair this 10-member group that includes representatives of the faculty, administration, and BOV. Other members of the
Committee are Sidney Dewberry, Jack Herrity, and James Miller of the BOV; Chris Hill, Vice Provost for Research, Rita Carty, Dean of the College of Nursing and Health Science, and Dee Holisky, Assoc. Dean for Academic Programs, from the administration; and Jack Censer, Susan Trechter, English Language Institute, Michael Dickerson, Communication, and an additional person to be named from the faculty. It was requested by the senators that Jack Censer pass Pat Wilkie’s study on to this Committee. P. Stearns said the committee is a calendar year task force.

New Business
The C- grade was discussed and reported on by representatives from the Financial Aid Office, and Susan Jones, Registrar. The C- and A+ will be deferred until the new computer system is in effect which could be as late as Fall 2002 and data can be
completed on line. The Director of Financial Aid, Jevita de Freitas reported the students might lose financial aid with a grade of C-. The C- grade will also lower GPA’s.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 pm

Respectfully submitted,
Lorraine Brown
Secretary, Faculty

Return to Archives