George Mason University
Approved Minutes of the Faculty Senate
September 4, 2002

Senators Present: K. Avruch, J. Bennett, A. Berry, P. Black, E. Blaisten-Barojas, D. Boileau, B. Brown, L. Brown, P. Buchanan, Y. D. Chung, R. Coffinberger, M. DeNys, M. Deshmukh, R. Diecchio, M. Dworzecka, E. Elstun, M. Ferri, H. Gortner, J. High, D. Holisky, H.W. Jeong, C. Kaffenberger, D. Kuebrich, B. Manchester, J. Metcalf, L. Monson, R. Nadeau, L. Pawloski, J. Kozlowski, D. Kuebrich, C. Lerner, P. Regan, L. Rockwood, S. Ruth, J. Sanford, F. Shahrokhi, S. Slayden, A. Sofer, D. Sprague, P. Stearns, C. Sutton, S. Trencher, I. Vaisman, S. Zoltek.

Senators Absent: D. Boehm-Davis, S. Cobb, S. deMonsabert, T. Friesz, J. Gorrell, M. Grady, L. Griffiths, K. Haynes, M. Kafatos, R. Klimoski, P.J. Maddox, C. Mattusch, A. Merten, J. Moore, W. Reeder, L. Rockwood, J. Scimecca, R. Smith, M. Stearns, W. Wang, J. Zenelis.

Guests Present: S. Beach, D. Haines, R. Herron.

I. Call to Order
Chair Jim Bennett called the meeting to order at 3:05 pm. He welcomed everyone to the new academic year and his first year as Senate Chair.

II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes of May 1 and May 8, 2002 were approved.

III. Announcements and Introductions
Dr. Bennett introduced Debi Siler as the new Clerk of the Senate, Ariela Sofer as the Chair pro tem, and Suzanne Slayden as the Parliamentarian. He announced that there are now two Sergeants-at-Arms: Cliff Sutton and Carol Kaffenberger. Don Boileau, Lorraine Brown, and Richard Coffinberger were named as the Senate liaisons to the Board of Visitors, and Michael Ferri was elected as Faculty Senate member on the Board of the GMU Foundation.

Jack High distributed a handout announcing a Symposium honoring Don Lavoie on Friday, September 20, 2002 in the President’s Room in Mason Hall.

IV. Approval of Meeting Schedule for Coming Academic Year
The proposed meeting schedule for Academic Year 2002-2003 was approved.

V. Election of the Secretary of the Senate
David Kuebrich was nominated and elected by unanimous vote as the Secretary of the Senate.

VI. Election of Members of Senate Standing Committees and Members of the University Committees – Rick Coffinberger
The following nominees were presented by the Nominations Committee and elected unanimously by the Senate for the Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies Committee
(Returning: Esther Elstun-Chair, Suzanne Slayden)
Nominees: Jack High, Carol Kaffenberger, Jim Metcalf

Facilities and Suppport Services and Library Committee
(Returning: Jean Moore, Stanley Zoltek)
Nominees: Alok Berry, Lorraine Brown-Chair, Linda Monson

Faculty Matters Committee
(Returning: Larry Rockwood)
Nominees: Marty DeNys-Chair, Bruce Manchester, Lisa Pawloski, Jim Sanford

Organization & Operations Committee
(Returning: Kevin Avruch, Estela Blaisten-Barojas)
Nominees: Phil Buchanan-Chair, Brack Brown, Hal Gortner

Nominations Committee
(Returning: Rick Coffinberger-Chair, Ariela Sofer)
Nominees (nominated from the floor): Ho-Won Jeong, David Kuebrich, Stephen Ruth

The following nominees were presented by the Nominations Committee and elected unanimously by the Senate for the University Standing Committees:

Academic Appeals Committee
(Returning: Julie Christensen, Connie Hylton, J.E. Lin)
Nominees: Don Boileau, Mary Silva

Admissions Committee
(Returning: Anna Baraniecki, Mary Ann Dzama, Eddie Tallent
Nominees: Georgine Redmond, Iosif Vaisman

Athletic Council
(Returning: John Crockett, Karen Oates, Cliff Sutton)
Nominee: Phil Wiest

Committee on Communication with the BOV
(Returning: Rich Rubenstein)
Nominees: Mary Meixell, Robert Nadeau, Ariela Sofer, Toni Travis

Effective Teaching Committee
(Returning: Susan Trencher)
Nominees: Richard Entrikin, Karen Hallows, J.E. Lin, Egon Verheyen, Jennie Wu

External Academic Relations Committee
(Returning: Sheryl Beach, Esther Elstun, Ariela Sofer, Toni Travis)
Nominee: Debbie Sprague

General Education Committee
(Returning: Sheryl Beach, Mack Holt, David Kuebrich, Peter Mandaville, Lisa Pawloski, Robert Ruhling, Cliff Sutton)
Nominees: Alok Berry (nominated from the floor), Peggy Feerick, Michelle Marks, Anita Taylor

Grievance Committee
(Returning: Linda Kalof, Linda Samuels)
Nominees: Jane Flinn, Joe Reid, Mary Silva

Minority and Diversity Issues Committee
(Returning: Claudia Kilmer, Jim Metcalf)
Nominees: Molly Davis, Ellen Fagenson-Eland, J.E. Lin

Non-Traditional, Interdisciplinary, and Adult Learning Committee
(Returning: Alok Berry, Richard Entrikin, Robert Hawkes, Tracie Good, James Kozlowski)
Nominee: Doug Mose

Technology Policy Committee
(Returning: Alok Berry, Richard Carver, Maria Dworzecka)
Nominees: J.P. Auffret, Nanda Dabbagh, Andrew Finn, Stanley Zoltek

Writing Across the Curriculum Committee
(Returning: David Rine, Karen Studd)
Nominees: Susan Durham, Priscilla Regan, Beth Schneider, Stanley Zoltek

A vote was held to extend the External Academic Relations Committee through the end of the semester. The vote was unanimously approved. The newly-elected Senate Standing Committees were instructed to meet immediately after the meeting to elect their chairs. The newly-elected University Standing Committees will be notified to meet and elect their chairs by September 25, 2002 and notify the Faculty Senate office.

VII. New Business
There was no new business to discuss.

VIII. Adjournment
The meeting adjourned at 3:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Lorraine Brown
Secretary, Faculty Senate

Return to Archives